Skip to content

Skip to table of contents

Jehovah’s Witnesses

Select language English
New World Translation of the Holy Scriptures (Study Edition)

An Introduction to God’s Word


The Bible is a collection of 66 smaller books. It is divided into two sections: the Hebrew-Aramaic Scriptures (“Old Testament”) and the Greek Scriptures (“New Testament”). Each Bible book is divided into chapters and verses. When scriptures are cited, the first number after the name of the book indicates the chapter, and the next number or numbers refer to the verse or verses. For example, Genesis 1:1 refers to Genesis chapter 1, verse 1.